entertain me Workshop

The “entertain me” workshop at SIGIR which I was co-chair of spent one full day discussing modelling of complex information needs expressed in simple queries. Examples under discussion were “help me, I need to understand a health-related question”, “entertain me by showing me something fun on my TV”, and most crucially for the purposes of the workshop participants: “help me enjoy an evening in an unfamiliar city”.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The deliberations regarding that last example were then executed in Beijing by a group of 25 people from 20 countries enjoying a Shanghai-style meal and an expat-style late-night ramble.

1311878483186
Results from the discussions will be published shortly in the next issue of SIGIR Forum and have already led to a submission for a contextual information track for next year’s TREC.

Leave a Reply

