Talk at NLP lunch

Today, I gave a hastily put together talk on my current experimentation on attitudinal adjectival expressions in the NLP group lunch. Fun, but somewhat rhapsodic, since the experiments are as of yet incomplete! (I will update when I have more to tell).


|---large--+------everyday-----+-----small---|
|-----not small----------------|
           |-------------not large-----------|
|-----------ill------------------------------O
                                      healthy^
                                      not ill^
|-----------not healthy----------------------O

One of the things I wanted to stress is to think about the utility of introducing linguistic sophistication for practical information system purposes. I posited three levels of use cases for large scale text
analysis:

  1. what are they talking about?
  2. how are they talking about it?
  3. what are they saying about it?

Slides are here.

